Athletics

At Sumner Academy, students of all ages are invited to participate in our athletic programs.

Sumner Academy offers its students a wide variety of athletic options. From Kindergarten to 8th grade, students are encouraged to be active and participate in team sports.

Not only do we offer a variety of athletic sports and clubs, but students in grades PK-6 take part in daily Physical Education classes. Students in Upper Middle School participate in P.E. three days per week, with the option to take additional courses.

Three students in cross country uniforms with backs to the camera

Hawks Athletics

Grades 5 - 8

Middle school athletics are for Student Athletes who are ready to transition into in-depth practice and strategy to prepare for high school level competitions. 

Sumner Academy Hawks Athletic Logo

 

Fall Sports

Co-Ed Volleyball (intramural)

 Co-Ed Cross Country

 

Two young students in cross country uniforms running at a meet
Middle school cross country team picture

Winter Sports

Boys' Basketball

Girls' Basketball

Cheerleading

Middle school girl playing basketball at a game
Male student dribbling a basketball at a game

Spring Sports

Co-Ed Tennis

Co-Ed Soccer

 

Male middle school student playing soccer in a game
Middle school students playing a soccer game
Sumner Academy soccer team in a huddle

Hawk's Nest Athletics

The Hawk's Nest Athletic Program at Sumner Academy serves our youngest students in grades K-4. This program helps to develop school spirit and pride while building important camaraderie among classmates and across grade levels. Students participating on these teams will build foundational skills and begin understanding the general rules of a particular sport. Athletes participating in Running Club will compete in the same meets as cross country, but in their respective age brackets.

Little kickers posing for a picture

Team Offerings

Running Club

Little Kickers Soccer Club

Volleyball Clinics

K-3 Cheerleading Club

Young elementary students running in a cross country meet
Picture of Athletic Director

Coach Waller

Athletic Director Megan Waller has a special place in her heart for both Sumner Academy and its athletic program. She graduated from Sumner Academy herself!

She was an active part of SA's athletic program throughout her years as a student. She retained her passion for sports, playing soccer for Cumberland University's women's team. 

Coach Waller has served as a Pre-Kindergarten teacher at SA and has attained a teaching degree from Cumberland University. She continues to work hard for our students by increasing the number of athletic offerings, improvement of facilities, and enrollment in competitive leagues.

Hawks Athletic Events

June 2024
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
Sun, May 26
Mon, May 27
Tue, May 28
Wed, May 29
Thu, May 30
Fri, May 31
Sat, Jun 1
Sun, Jun 2
Mon, Jun 3
Tue, Jun 4
Wed, Jun 5
Thu, Jun 6
Fri, Jun 7
Sat, Jun 8
Sun, Jun 9
Mon, Jun 10
Tue, Jun 11
Wed, Jun 12
Thu, Jun 13
Fri, Jun 14
Sat, Jun 15
Sun, Jun 16
Mon, Jun 17
Tue, Jun 18
Wed, Jun 19
Thu, Jun 20
Fri, Jun 21
Sat, Jun 22
Sun, Jun 23
Mon, Jun 24
Tue, Jun 25
Wed, Jun 26
Thu, Jun 27
Fri, Jun 28
Sat, Jun 29
Sun, Jun 30
Mon, Jul 1
Tue, Jul 2
Wed, Jul 3
Thu, Jul 4
Fri, Jul 5
Sat, Jul 6